Worlds of the Nether: Eosphere

Melektas-100I am Melektas, Keeper of Eosphere, a Titanic watcher left behind by the Titans to watch over the development of this world. What may appear to you as an inhospitable ball of flame, covered by thick, brown clouds is in reality a lush world, cloaked from the outside universe by a complex ancient mechanism. It has kept the existence of everything here, me included, for countless aeons. I have lived a very long life, if you can call it life. I was created and awakened by the great Norgannon, the Lore Keeper. In those ancient times, Eosphere was already lush and full of life, but it was wild and untamed. Titans can rarely stand disorder, but here they made an exception. For science, and because their true interested laid elsewhere – on nearby Azeroth.

While Azeroth is third from its sun, Eosphere orbits the same star on the second orbit. You tiny, mortal creatures have no idea how special your Azeroth is. All the efforts of all the Titans were turned to your world. Norgannon and Eonar paid visits to Eosphere only to learn from it. The true work was being done on your world, while Eosphere was only observed. Many of the giant reptiles you call dinosaurs came from Eosphere and it was here that the Titans were observing them in their natural environment. I served them and watched with them, gathering the beasts and testing them according to their designs. The strongest and fittest examples were taken aboard interplanetary ships and transported to your world. I was left to stand in my observatory and watch Azeroth as a small, moving dot in the sky, or an image on my scanners.

The time has come that the Titans left – both Azeroth and Eosphere. They told me they would come back one day, yes, one day. Until then, I had to stay here with a group of mechanical helpers – mogu, vrykul and mechagnomes. The small creatures were to serve me with whatever I desired, but I wasn’t the master of this world. I was just to observe, and once every cycle around Eosphere’s and Azeroth’s sun, to send my reports back to the Titans via my console. Since then, I’ve been sending my reports every year. And for a time, I would always get a response, acknowledging my input, a day or two afterwards. But some time ago… some time, I cannot tell… then, they stopped. I sent my reports as always, but the Titans ceased to respond. With no warning, no message, they just stopped.

Most mortal creatures would panic and not know what to do, but we are not you. We do what we are told, and in the lack of orders we maintain the last standing orders we had, indefinitely. We continued to observe, and saw continents shift and new creatures die and come to life without any intervention. We saw a particularly vicious and clever creature emerge – a tall, lanky bipedal sentient whose females were beautiful and sophisticated, and whose males were barbaric and disfigured. Although they marginally resemble what you know as “trolls”, they are entirely unrelated. These creatures, which we named E-124-A5C, but which my servant mechagnome insisted on calling Eospherites, are the only native sentient creatures. They are hostile and dangerous and didn’t take keenly to our presence.

Time has passed, and no one is truly immortal, nothing is indestructible. I sent my companions out to the world to keep doing the missions the Titans would have wanted, but one by one they began disappearing in the jungles. Whether they simply ran out of power, like my oldest companion Shuo, or whether they ran into the dangerous creatures that inhabit this world, it is unknown. In time, only I and the aforementioned mechagnome, Ozon, remained. His mechanisms must have began to corrode as he began believing I was his “friend”. He was turning more and more erratic until one day he left, with intent of getting me a “birthday present”, and never returned. For three thousand years since, I was here all alone, often staring at the sky motionlessly for days, seeking some meaning for my continued existence.

The Titans still didn’t answer. After everything I sent them, including strange letters written when my programming began to break down and exhibit “emotions”, they still didn’t answer. I did not know if they were no longer interested in my observations, if I was relieved of my post… I knew nothing. There was nothing but emptiness in the aether. I couldn’t comprehend why they wouldn’t answer at all until I arrived at the only remaining logical conclusion. The Titans are dead. I do not know if they perished in some great battle, or simply died out after ordering every world they could find, but they must be dead. Otherwise, they would have responded.

I do not know anymore what am I doing here. Everything has lost its purpose and there no longer is anyone to even exchange information with. I simply continue exist with but one hope in mind – that I was wrong, and one day the Titans arrive and take me away to another station.

About Arakkoa

Verroak Krasha, an Arakkoa druid with over 50 years of experience. Formerly from Farahlon, during the Orcish expansion relocated to Skettis, then to Sethekk Halls, then to rebuilt Shattrath, following the heresies in each of those places. Finally, he founded his own succesfull alchemy business and set out into the wide cosmos to explore strange new worlds and seek out new life and boldly go where no bird has flown before. View all posts by Arakkoa

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.