RSS

One step closer to the full ‘Dex

04 Mar

VerroakArtAvatarI have a certain respect for the mo’arg. The engineer dudes, not the beefy mooks. They’re smart, they’re dangerous and their appearance incites terror. When you see a mo’arg going at you, you know you’re in trouble. Sure, they’re going a little extreme with the whole “replacing body parts with machines” thing, but everyone has got their own little obsession. I must admit, mine is probably collecting. Not pixelated monsters in a tiny hand-held device, not cards or teddy bears – collecting people. The more varied and stranger their races, the better. Just seeing all kinds of creatures working together fills a certain, warped sense of collectorship in my mind. And I always wanted to have one of these – the mo’arg. I worked with, and fought, Sal’salabim so I know what they’re capable of. But only recently I got the chance to get one of them in my employ.

He’s called Doomsmith Jhuuton. Don’t ask me to explain how it’s pronounced properly in their language. The consonants just don’t come through my break right at all. Luckily, being called “Doomsmith” is not too common, even around here so there’s that. And I won’t get into a discussion of how exactly you forge doom, been there, done that, it doesn’t end pretty. So, a guy I know in Terokkar got a wind (because he’s an ethereal, get it?) of this rogue mo’arg looking for gainful employment outside of the Legion. He was pretty close, geographically, to Sal’salabim so I decided to swipe him before the smuggler gets him into his demonic ring. We managed to cover it – I sent Riktal to Shattrath, and from there she caught the mo’arg and teleported him right here. As luck would have it, we were just then having problems with strange blips on our radars, popping up here and there.

Jhuuton was there in the exact time when one of those blips happened and although most people, like Yu Gwai, wouldn’t see anything the mo’arg’s mechanical eye detected a spectral residue of a phasing entity skimming right by the barrier of my teleportation wards. He swore it looked like a succubus though, so some of my people didn’t believe him but I knew mo’arg are not insane. Well, not that kind of insane. They can be maniacal and sociopathic and have dissociative issues, but they rarely have delusions of hallucinations, especially in the cybernetic eye. I let him track those pings and he went off following them to the Island.

Before long, he had his grip on what was happening. Well, not literally, because mo’arg have quite a grip in the mechanical pincer-arm. He was using his eye and some additional equipment to follow the culprit around. Apparently, she was skirting the metaphysical walls of my teleportation wards “from outside”. Not in the traditional meaning of outside – she was approaching them from another dimension and sliding next to them in a very close coterminous layer of reality. So he figured out a way to catch her – because she was depending on sliding on my walls, all he needed to do was to temporarily (and unpredictably) punch a tiny hole in that wall, right on her path. He did just that, and the creature fell through, right into his gravitational trap.

Turns out it wasn’t a succubus, but a shay. If you don’t know what shay are, they are a kind of a nymph. Unlike the dryad offshoots you people know as nymphs, these people look much more closer to humans, at least on Azeroth. They’re a kind of a nature spirit, much like wisps, except these can take on humanoid forms. They normally live in the Emerald Dream, which is probably a dimension she was approaching us from, Their forms are so close to humans because they adapt, over centuries, to the majority of the dreamers. If everything on Azeroth continues as it is, there will be orc-like and draenei-like shay at one point in the future. And Jhuuton mistaking her for a succubus confirms one of my theories – sayaad, the succubi, are most likely a fel-corrupted race of shay from another world. The name even kinda fits.

The shay said her name was Blodeuwedd and she promised she wished no harm on any of us. She was just playing small pranks on our crew, she said, and she didn’t think we minded it. That’s fey for you. Jhuuton wanted to torture and examine her, but I thought I’d rather keep my relations with the Seelie Court on good terms and forbade him – but gave him the satyr we captured in the last mission to the Emerald Dream. Oh yeah, related to that – apparently the shay was also keeping Huntress Swiftriver and her people in a slumber, and put some elaborate dream scenario before them. When we caught her, we disturbed her mini-layer of the Dream and freed the elves. Doubt I’m gonna get paid for that one. In time, I released the creature under promise she won’t mess with us again but just in case, I put a tiny radioactive isotope on her. It won’t harm her, but it will emit radiation we will track from miles away.

After that performance, I decided to hire Jhuuton and demote An… that nerubian [Anub’mertan – added by Menrim] to assistant engineer. The doomsmith was now our chief engineering researcher and sure enough, he immediately started working on the androids we had laying around for weeks, and even drawn Balerok’s attention. The nerubian couldn’t figure out a first thing about them, and his meddling almost brought an extraterrestrial invasion on us. Of course, Jhuuton immediately fixated on the still-living android and began trying to wake it or otherwise open its casing, but after some nagging from the nerubian, he got to work on the task I gave him – cutting up the dead android and finding use for its constituent parts, sans the now missing power cell.

He still didn’t get any massive results, but it’s only been hours since I hired him and his previous show of skill leaves me hopeful of his potential. In the end, I feel I made a good decision. Now, I’m only left thinking what else do I need for my, as Swiftriver put it, menagerie. Maybe we’ll yet turn the satyr prisoner and that shay into our assets. Yes, that sounds good. Soon, I will have eyes and ears in every world, realm and plane of existence and then I will… sorry, I need to adjust my meds.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 04.03.2015 in IC, Memoirs, Verroak Krasha

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
