Character Profiles: Menrim

MenrimShoppedName: Menrim
Race: Tol’vir
Gender: Male
Age: 31
Class: Factotum
Professions: herbalism, inscription, cooking, fishing
Religion: Holy Light (layman)
Alignment (per D&D): Neutral Good
Traits (per CK2): Quick, scholar, honest, shy, diligent, kind, charitable, cynical, trusting, patient, craven

Place of residence: Tower of Krasha, Twilight Grove, Duskwood
Friends and associates: Sometimes spends time together with Yu Gwai. Although he was originally apprehensive towards Mehrzad due to their origins, they learned to like each other. He respects Izzik, but rarely has the time to talk to her lately. Outside of these, he shies away from interacting with most Tower employees.
Romantic partners: None known whatsoever. Rumors abound about his true objects of attraction, but it most likely is not tol’vir females.
Children: none
Pets: Although he doesn’t keep pets in the traditional meaning of the word, he acquired a floating book to help him with his job.
Mounts: For anatomical reasons, doesn’t use any.
Known languages: Tol’vir, Common, Orcish, Darnassian, Taur-ahe, Dwarven, Vrykul, Pandaren, Gnoll, Nerglish (in varying levels of proficiency)
Most important value: Knowledge

Describe your character’s relationship with their mother or their father, or both. Was it good? Bad? Were they spoiled rotten, ignored? Do they still get along now, or no?

Was my relationship with my father good? Gee, I don’t know. I could almost forget between the times he hit me on the head for failing at some task he made up for me, the times whene he scolded me for not having friends, and how he pretty much completely forgot about me after I grew up and moved out with the speed of light. Ahmora was a bad man and if I met him again, I would refuse to call him “father”. Luckily for me, he died recently and I will never have to endure his prejudice ever again.

My mother I never got to know very well. She died when I was little and two years later my father re-married. The stepmother was a witch of a woman who agreed with everything my father did and said. I hope she chokes on the inheritance he undoubtedly left her and her little bastards.

Sorry. I’m not usually that outspoken, but mentioning my family can get me going.

What are your characters most prominent physical features?

People always tease me about having large ears, large chin, a small, crooked nose and a short tail. So you could count those.

Name one scar your character has, and tell us where it came from. If they don’t have any, is there a reason?

I don’t like talking about scars, nor do I recount them with pride.

How vain is your character? Do they find themselves attractive?

I’m not vain at all. I don’t think I’m attractive, otherwise my life would have went differently.

What’s your character’s ranking on the Kinsey Scale?

I don’t want to respond to this question. ((Gay, with virtually no response to females))

Describe your character’s happiest memory.

I remember a morning in the gardens of Neferset City when I and Bathet were little, and our mother was with us. I don’t remember her well, but the few things I do remember are nice memories like these. We were just playing around, as children do, and mother was looking on, peacefully sitting on a bench nearby.

Is there one event or happening your character would like to erase from their past? Why?

Just one? I can’t decide if it would my mother or my brother dying. I hold on to a belief that my life would have been better with my mother still around, although I cannot even remember if she would understand me. So I suppose I have to say the way Bathet died. I was kind of responsible for his demise. Although he deserved it, I cannot forgive myself for leaving him like that.

What’s your character’s favorite ice cream flavor? Color? Song? Flower?

Ice cream: Not my specialty, but I choose vanilla when I can.
Color: brown.
Song: An unnamed classic composition by Imhon of Orsis. Ask any tol’vir and they will know which one.
Flower: Chrysanthemum.

Who does your character trust?

I trust Izzik and Mehrzad in some ways. In few ways, I trust my co-workers, when it comes to professional performance. But outside of that… you could say I have trust issues.

Can you define a turning point in your character’s life? Multiples are acceptable.

I can’t say I ever had a “turning point”. I was always pretty much the same person I am now. At least as far as my mature thinking goes.

Is there an animal you equate with your character?

Most tol’vir would compare themselves to one of a couple of animals. Camels, said to be dependable and tough; lions, said to be fierce and strong; hyenas, said to be untrustworthy but fun; or falcon, said to be spiritual and wise. I suppose I would have to say camels out of those, but I’m not really tough. I just like the idea of a camel.

How is your character with technology? Super savvy, or way behind the times? Letters or email?

I know my way around technology, but it’s not my main interest in life.

What does your character’s bed look like when he/she wakes up? Are the covers off on one side of the bed, are they all curled around a pillow, sprawled everywhere? In what position might they sleep?

That’s a little too personal for my taste.

How does your character react to temperature changes such as extreme heat and cold?

I really dislike cold. It’s almost to be expected, considering where I was raised, but I dislike cold beyond that.

Is your character an early morning bird or a night owl?

I tend to spend long hours during the evening poring over books, but I always wake up early to keep a healthy schedule. I know that the former part is not very healthy, but I do not stay up into middle of the night either.

Are there any blood relatives that your character is particularly close with, besides the immediate ones? Cousins, Uncles, Grandfathers, Aunts, et cetera. Are there any others that your character practically considers a blood relative?

We never kept close contact with any family beyond my father and my siblings.

What’s your character’s desk/workspace look like? Are they neat or messy?

I try to keep a proper order on my desk. Good organization is the key to productivity.

Is your character a good cook? What’s their favorite recipe, whether they’re good or not? (Microwave mac-and-cheese applies.)

I can cook enough to sustain myself. Recipes I make are rather boring. You know, scrambled eggs, things like that. Of course, I don’t eat eggs in the Tower, they’re forbidden, but neither do I have to with the exquisite cooking Ms. Mikiruq does.

What’s your character’s preferred means of travel?

I just answered it on that asking site. As slow as it takes, I prefer to travel on my own force. It may take a while longer than, say, a carriage, but I trust my own abilities above anything else.

Does your character have any irrational fears?

Snakes. Everybody hates snakes, right?

What would your character’s  cutie mark be?

That’s too silly.

If your character could time travel, where would they go?

Oh my, I would like to see quite a lot of things. Of course, I know the danger time travel poses so I would be too afraid to actually go there. But if I had a way to just view the past directly, there is no limit to the amount of eras and places I would want to see.

Is your character superstitious?

Many superstitions can be easily explained with enough empirical knowledge. I do not hold any superstitious fears of, uh, black cats, because I can demonstrably prove their falsehood.

What might your character’s ideal romantic partner be?

…Must be some kind of angel.

Describe your character’s hands. Are they small, long, calloused, smooth, stubby?

They’re smooth and well-kept. Hands are very important to me. You do everything with your hands. One mistake and you could move some germ from the ground to your food and poison yourself.

Second day of favorites! Favorite comfort food, favorite vice, favorite outfit, favorite hot drink, favorite time of year, and favorite holiday.

Comfort food: I don’t eat of out stress anymore. I keep a strict diet.
Vice: I can be vengeful sometimes. Is that a “favorite”?
Outfit: My favorite is minimalistic, but I cannot wear it in this climate. So I’m wearing a variety of garments made for ceremonial purposes. They’re not very comfortable, but I prefer that to being cold.
Time of year: Summer.
Holiday: Harvest Festival. There is always a plenty of… I mean… it’s nice.

Pick two songs that describe your character at two different points of their life, and explain why you chose them.

((I’m going to have to find a replacement for this question, as every answer will be a cop-out))

If your character’s life was a genre, what would it be?

A boring documentary.

How does your character smell? Do they wear perfume or cologne?

I have a whole set of different perfumes. Originally, I brought all of them from Uldum but those were used up since and now I’m using some substitutes made by the Tower. They’re not the same, but it’s still a nice smell. Some magnolia or jasmine.

And finally: Write a letter to your character, from yourself.

I don’t have time for this. Letters are long and elaborate, sometimes even works of art. I would hate to waste my time on such a futile endeavor.

About Arakkoa

Verroak Krasha, an Arakkoa druid with over 50 years of experience. Formerly from Farahlon, during the Orcish expansion relocated to Skettis, then to Sethekk Halls, then to rebuilt Shattrath, following the heresies in each of those places. Finally, he founded his own succesfull alchemy business and set out into the wide cosmos to explore strange new worlds and seek out new life and boldly go where no bird has flown before. View all posts by Arakkoa

Leave a Reply

