Character Profiles: Tarakan Krasha

tarakan

by enipnion

 

Name: Tarakan Krasha
Race: (Outcast) Arakkoa
Gender: Prefers not to specify ((male))
Age: 67 (as of this posting)
Class: Hunter
Professions: skinning, leatherworking, cooking, fishing, first aid
Religion: deistic
Alignment (per D&D): True Neutral
Traits (per CK2): Quick, shy, content, patient, temperate, diligent, brave

Place of residence: Currently, Caverns of Time. Formerly, Veil Krasha, Farahlon; Skettis; Setthekk Halls; Lower City, Shattrath; Mage District, Stormwind. Most of his time prior to joining the Timewalkers he led a rather nomadic lifestyle.
Friends and associates: Has few friends among people. Loves his brother Verroak, and respects some of the other Timewalkers he’s worked with.
Romantic partners: None known, whatsoever.
Pets: Pita (an arcane serpent), and a whole host of various rare creatures.
Mounts: Formerly a dread raven and a faerie dragon, currently uses only a riverbeast.
Known languages: Arakkoa, Common.
Most important value: Peace and balance

Describe your character’s relationship with their mother or their father, or both. Was it good? Bad? Were they spoiled rotten, ignored? Do they still get along now, or no?

My father always preferred Verroak to me. Verroak was the clever student that everybody loved to hate out of envy. Once I overheard father talking to mother and telling her I may be dumber than my other siblings. The truth is, I never tried to study magic or legends very hard. I found most books boring, and most people deceitful beyond reason. Instead, I spent my time with animals, which father of course saw as some “orc-like primitivism”. If something happened to me, he was there for me and helped me, but it was no secret I was his least favorite child. I still grieved him when he died.

Mother was hard to read. She always tried to be nice and polite to everyone and kept telling father to show more affection to me. I think she just loved me as much as my siblings with the same unconditional motherly love. But if you asked her what she loved about me, she would often find it hard to actually mention anything. “You’re clever and resourceful, and you know how to get around” was her best attempt. I miss her a lot.

What are your characters most prominent physical features?

I’ve been told I have a “beard”. Being a bird, I can’t have an actual beard, but the feathers under my head shape in a way that mammals associate with beards.

Name one scar your character has, and tell us where it came from. If they don’t have any, is there a reason?

I have these large, thick lines on my left arm. I got them when I tried to hunt one particularly vicious gronnling. I think the orcs called him “Poundfist”. That sucker had the strength of a mountain. If I didn’t get my arm out in time, I wouldn’t have an arm today. He still hit me strong enough to leave teeth marks and a lot of blood.

How vain is your character? Do they find themselves attractive?

I don’t think I’m attractive. I mean, if I were, girls would at least appreciate that about me, right?

What’s your character’s ranking on the Kinsey Scale?

I don’t know how to even measure it with the way my life went. I was attracted to females, though I hardly had the chance to pursue that attraction.

Describe your character’s happiest memory.

It’s hard to say. Probably the happiest and most frustrating memory at once is when I finally tamed one of the arcane serpents they call “Spirit of the North”. It was hard to even get to them, and when I did I fell from the height of a spire. Luckily, the beast followed me down and I could tame it despite the wounds. I guess you now know why I call her “Pita”.

Is there one event or happening your character would like to erase from their past? Why?

The time when I was a fledgling and I followed a girl to her house, and then she noticed me and rightfully freaked out. I was young and stupid. Our mistakes make us, but I’d rather not live with that shame.

What’s your character’s favorite ice cream flavor? Color? Song? Flower?

I’m not particularly fond of ice cream. It’s too sweet all at once. I guess some of the milder flavors would be nice. As for color, I like green. Very natural and calming, at least to me. Song? There’s nothing more beautiful than animals singing their songs in the wild. Flower? I always found lotus interesting. Not the mind-numbing kind from that one timeline, regular old lotus.

Who does your character trust?

I trust my brother. I know he’s not the perfect person, but I trust he won’t do anything too bad. He might be rather ruthless sometimes, but he cares about more than he lets on. And I trust my superiors in the Timewalkers. They are wise, old creatures that saw a lot.

Can you define a turning point in your character’s life? Multiples are acceptable.

I suppose that incident with the girl I followed was in a way a turning point. I realized that I was becoming something… creepy. I didn’t want to have that effect on people and I knew I couldn’t be anything else. So I retreated to the wild, and I think everyone’s happier for it.

Is there an animal you equate with your character?

I suppose owls would be a good comparison. Fitting too, considering arakkoa are descended from a relative of owls. I always look for wisdom, but I’m more dangerous than you’d expect.

How is your character with technology? Super savvy, or way behind the times? Letters or email?

I can’t really find my way around with it. Only very recently I started posting on this Tweeter and it’s so strange. The letters are so tiny, and the device is so fragile – I have to resist the impulse to strike it with my talons. Not only they can damage the device, the command won’t go through either. I just prefer to keep away out of fear I’d destroy something.

What does your character’s bed look like when he/she wakes up? Are the covers off on one side of the bed, are they all curled around a pillow, sprawled everywhere? In what position might they sleep?

I heard my nest is very well made even after I wake up. Unlike my siblings, I never tossed and turned as much as them. And of course, I take the whole nest apart when I leave for the day.

How does your character react to temperature changes such as extreme heat and cold?

I’ve got used to plenty of different climates. In my three years as a Timewalker, I’ve seen some that you wouldn’t even know exist.

Is your character an early morning bird or a night owl?

Oh, night owl definitely.

Are there any blood relatives that your character is particularly close with, besides the immediate ones? Cousins, Uncles, Grandfathers, Aunts, et cetera. Are there any others that your character practically considers a blood relative?

I don’t have any relatives left other than Verroak and we’re… somewhat close. We don’t talk a lot, nor do we understand what the other does, but we care for each other. And then there’s Orkan, who’s by blood my son, but comes from a different timeline. I feel strange around him. I care about him and want to help him, but it feels like a kind of a… dry care. Maybe I should spend more time with him, but neither would I know what to do or say, nor do I have the time with my job.

What’s your character’s desk/workspace look like? Are they neat or messy?

I don’t have a desk or workspace. I work on the run, observing timelines and making sure everything unfolds as we know it, and that no one interferes.

Is your character a good cook? What’s their favorite recipe, whether they’re good or not? (Microwave mac-and-cheese applies.)

I heard I’m a good cook. I don’t know many recipes, though. I mostly take some wild vegetables that I know are good in a soup, or some easily available meat. I just cook what the land gives me.

What’s your character’s preferred means of travel?

I used to run everywhere on foot, but I’m getting old and I’m starting to rely on a riverbeast as a mount. Funny thing is, I left it in Veil Krasha when the orcs attacked and recovered it by going back in time only recently.

Does your character have any irrational fears?

I don’t know if I have those. Like any person I fear for my life and my family, but I don’t think I have phobias of snakes or anything like that.

What would your character’s  cutie mark be?

*reads up on the concept*
*chuckles*
*chuckles again*
I don’t watch cartoons.

If your character could time travel, where would they go?

can time travel. I went to a lot of places and times, and most of the time it’s not much better than it is here and now.

Is your character superstitious?

There’s no such thing as superstitions. Every belief came from something.

What might your character’s ideal romantic partner be?

Oh, don’t get me started on this. It’s… I…

Look, I should… she should…

*long pause*

I would feel well with a partner who would understand me for what I am. Who would not expect me to change, or would not have any dreams of a dashing, handsome young prince on a white steed. Someone who would just be content to be with me and share our twilight years.

Describe your character’s hands. Are they small, long, calloused, smooth, stubby?

I think I’d say “calloused”. I hunt, and then cook my own food. There is never much rest for me.

Second day of favorites! Favorite comfort food, favorite vice, favorite outfit, favorite hot drink, favorite time of year, and favorite holiday.

Comfort Food? I like those pizzas I found on a few worlds. Very unhealthy, but almost addictive. Vice? Vices are never good, it’s a contradiction in terms. Hot drink? Coffee, maybe. Time of year? I like spring. Everything is coming back to life. It just feels comforting. Holiday? Despite being in the winter, Winter’s Veil feels nice. People actually try be to nice each other, even if it’s just a facade.

Pick two songs that describe your character at two different points of their life, and explain why you chose them.

They wouldn’t translate well from Arakkoa, and I don’t know many human or orcish songs.

If your character’s life was a genre, what would it be?

A western.

How does your character smell? Do they wear perfume or cologne?

Most of my life, I was told I smell of animals. Recently, I’ve been told I smell of fresh sand. I suppose it’s all that time in Caverns of Time.

And finally: Write a letter to your character, from yourself.

Tarakan,
Don’t blame yourself for what you are. Keep at what you’re doing and don’t worry that you’re not much like others. Not everyone is destined to be that. Be true to yourself, no matter what pressures are put on you. People who truly love you will understand that.
My sincerest regards,
Your future self

About Arakkoa

Verroak Krasha, an Arakkoa druid with over 50 years of experience. Formerly from Farahlon, during the Orcish expansion relocated to Skettis, then to Sethekk Halls, then to rebuilt Shattrath, following the heresies in each of those places. Finally, he founded his own succesfull alchemy business and set out into the wide cosmos to explore strange new worlds and seek out new life and boldly go where no bird has flown before. View all posts by Arakkoa

Leave a Reply

