Grey Friday in Stormwind

VerroakLooking at the sky over here makes me depressed. And anyone who knows me, knows I’m not exactly the happiest person alive even without it. The sky is completely grey. It’s way too cold for my tastes. And the level of light is stuck in this awful half-darkness that irritates both day and night people. It’s not exactly a paradise over here, if you know what I’m saying. So I’m just sitting in this room, straining my eyes to see what I’m writing, and trying to figure out what is happening to Draenor.

Last I wrote, I was in Sentinel Hill. When I woke up the next day, I felt as if some kind of water-vampire (are those called ‘thrax’?) drained my throat and beak of all water contents. After splurging half of our daily allowance on water and other soft drinks, we quickly left the place. Can you imagine, Westfall is so dusty, there are literal elemental incarnations of dust running around. As far as I’m aware, elementals are not supposed to run wild on Azeroth.

When we crossed the bridge to Elwynn Forest, past some dead horse, the weather immediately changed. You know, I would complain about it being weird, but after living over twenty years in Outland, I learned to not question zones magically changing all conditions in the blink of an eye. I mean, Elwynn is still cold this time of the year, but at least it has living grass growing over it. It has trees that are not crumpling over like a forgotten window-sill plant. Overall, you don’t feel left for dead in there.

There weren’t many things to complain about in Elwynn (and believe me, for me that’s an achievement) until we had to spend the night in Goldshire. Yup, Goldshire. That place is a freakshow. Half of the inn occupants are running around either nearly naked, or wearing some weird-ass costumes. I think I saw someone wearing a (poorly sewn up) fake wolf head and pretending to be a Worgen. There was also a human woman (I think it was a human woman) painted blue with a fake tail, apparently demanding a higher price for her “services” because she’s a draenei. Yeah, it’s that weird.

The innkeeper at first thought me and Tarakan were some kind of cross-dressers as well, but he changed his mind when I scratched his mug with one of my talons. So we got the room. We kept the light on, and barricaded ourselves in, because with everything happening outside, we couldn’t be safe. I had to even cover my ears during the night, so I could sleep past the music, and believe me, finding my ears has only gotten harder in my old age.

Despite all the precautions, I was still woken up by some creepy mammal fingers touching me. Turns out, while I was still sleeping, my brother left the room, did not barricade it again, and went to get food. It didn’t take long for some drunken human perverts to start “investigating” how does a body of a 6-foot tall bird feel. Luckily, I’m a light sleeper. I’d tell you more of what happened later, but I’m legally obliged to only say one of them was found with slit throat and gouged eyes under the bed, and the other two were hanging by their ankles from a tree outside my window.

We then started on the final road to Stormwind. The road was understandably crowded, with all the people coursing both ways due to the Harvest Festival, and all the random people dueling. I heard people like to duel on this road, but I didn’t quite know why. Is that because they get into conflicts in the city and are not allowed, by law, to kill each other there? All the cut-purses, prowling for the few inexperienced people traversing that road only add to the general atmosphere of chaos on the road to Stormwind.

Finally, we were there. Stormwind these days reminds me a bit of Shattrath in its heyday. By which I mean it doesn’t look like it at all, it’s just all the crowds of people just going about their day was reminiscent of that past. And by Terokk, do I hate it. I breathed a sigh of relief when so many people in Shattrath got killed. Less people to get in my way, less people to stick their nose into the wrong window. And now, in Stormwind, I’m back to dealing with those crowds again. Can we get a siege or something in here?

Nevertheless, today morning we found a room. An important mage lent us a room in his tower in the Mage District. The room is not too big, but it’s comfortable enough for me. High above the streets, I’m also less concerned by the crowds, as well as that district being slightly less populated than the rest. I was hoping I’d get to see some trees out of the window, but unfortunately, our room looks out straight into the smoking hole formerly known as “the Park”.

So we live on for now. The journey is finished, but my research into what’s happening to Draenor is only beginning. Interestingly, our gracious host knew nothing of the events we described to him, but promised his help in finding any clues. If fortune will be on our side, maybe we’ll even cross paths with some big fish, like Khadgar. Let’s hope we explain and prevent it quickly enough.

About Arakkoa

Verroak Krasha, an Arakkoa druid with over 50 years of experience. Formerly from Farahlon, during the Orcish expansion relocated to Skettis, then to Sethekk Halls, then to rebuilt Shattrath, following the heresies in each of those places. Finally, he founded his own succesfull alchemy business and set out into the wide cosmos to explore strange new worlds and seek out new life and boldly go where no bird has flown before. View all posts by Arakkoa

Leave a Reply

