RSS

Mammals smell

07 Nov

VerroakMammals smell badly. It’s a well known fact. It’s because of that thing you call “sweat”. Birds don’t sweat. The whole idea of covering yourself with a smelly liquid to cool down is completely alien. And stinky, did I mention that? And try to explain sweat to someone who doesn’t speak Common or any mammal language.

There’s an old bird here in Veil Sha’tari. Older than me. He’s over 100 years old by now, but when I was talking to him about it he was… 98, I think? He never learnt Orcish, Draenei or Common. All he speaks is Ravenspeech and a few choice insults in Orcish. So one day I try to explain him where that mammal smell comes from.

Try to do that when your language doesn’t even have the word for “sweat”. I have to say, slowly and loudly, that when mammals feel hot, they excrete this liquid all over their bodies. This liquid serves to cool them down. He was noticeably grossed out by this and asked me why can’t you people just pant. I tell him, panting is not enough because mammals normally have lower body temperature than us and have more temperature to vent out.

He decided mammals are just gross. And I don’t blame him, your physiology actually is kinda disgusting. Although, he laughed his tail off when I told him you people take showers to get “sweat” off – you cover yourself in one liquid, and then you wash it off with another. At least your showers don’t smell as bad.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 07.11.2013 in IC, Memoirs

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
